adding abstract

Guys…. I’m changing up my art style. (not completely but I’ll get to that.)

It’s been a long time coming. For those of you who scrolled all the way to the bottom of my Instagram page you probably noticed that I wasn’t always a dedicated illustrator. I used to do a bit of mixed media, some oil painting, a lot of acrylic… I’m sort of a jack of all trades to anything artistic. Though I’m impressed with how far I’ve come, I want to get back into acrylic painting.

Lately… And not really lately; just more painfully so as of recently, I’ve wanted to stop drawing entirely. I didn’t want to draw. I didn’t want to do water colours. I didn’t want to do anything. Somehownit became all about the likes. Nothing I did was never getting enough attention in my mind. I wasn’t famous. On top of that my style felt limiting. I couldn’t figure out how to express the intense emotions I feel all the time between the perfectly crafted lines; which were never quite as perfect as they needed to be. No amount of facial expressions conveyed the overwhelming joys, tears, rage I’ve felt at any moment. But it got me likes and so I continued. I’m in 400 deep now and I’m so happy all of you are here. But now is the time for some changes. Not just when I hit 10k and people love everything I did but I’m dead inside because my art was a sell out. But now when I know that I have room to grow. I know that some of you on Instagram will probably leave. That’s ok. And if it’s any consolation I’m not abondoning my illustrations all together. I’ll still be making them. I just… Need something more.

Do what gives you joy. You might still have to do things you loathe to get there, but don’t sell yourself out for instant gratification. You are worth so much more.

Leave a Reply

